Me @ ISTE 2010

Less than a week to go, and I’m off to ISTE in Denver. I don’t make many conferences, but ISTE has so much imagination and diversity that it’s a real power-up for the next 12 months. This year, I’m running two formal sessions and perhaps some informal ones.

Designing Scenario Based Learning with Web2.0 (Saturday, 6/26/2010,  12:30pm–3:30pm CCC 107/109 ) and Games, MMOS, and Virtual Worlds: Where Do They Fit in the Curricula? Tuesday, 6/29/2010,  4:45pm–6:15pm CCC 20.

Scenario Based Learning is a 3 hour trip in which teachers will develop an online game based, from which I hope they (and others) will add and use in the classroom. It will be a very busy workshop, in which teachers will create the solution collaboratively – so don’t expect me to be Power Pointing messages of hope and verbose one liners to tweet. Games and MMOs is a facilitated discussion – where I’ll be showing some of Animal Farm 3D that I’ve been working on with Jo Kay on the JGrid – as a talking point of how to embed story, questing and gaming in a standards focused curricula.

Aside from that, please look me up in the Bloggers Cafe, where I’m going to be showing and talking about developing iPhone, iPad and Android apps in the classroom, and perhaps running some small group sessions at the Unconference in the morning.

I am really looking forward to catching up with all those who’s inspired me again this year – and especially those in Cognitive Dissonance and ISTE’s Second Lifers – not to mention those on the ACCE study tour again.

In the week prior I’m in St. Louis working with teachers about creating Project Based Learning classrooms, and have to thanks Elizabeth at MICDS for making all and any of this possible – via their impressive Summer Professional Development Institute. Especially spending time with Andrew Churches and Jenny Luca in St. Louis and of course wandering the halls in Denver with Judy O’Connell. Thanks to Jeff Agamenoni for agreeing to help out in my SBL workshop.

Please come and say Hai, I’ll be the one lurking in the corner of the Bloggers Cafe not really looking at people who are kind of scary in crowds.

@deangroom