How to make QR Codes with Google

Visit my other blog

QR codes or Quick Response Codes are not quite new, but are increasingly visible in our daily lives.  They are quite simple to create, with many online services allowing you to make them, for example Kaywa QR Code Maker.  For those who have to know the details, here’s a more in depth look at QR Codes. I’m not a tutorial blog, so I guess you’ll figure out the step by steps – if I at least give you some starter points. What I’m really interested in here is that Google can already make QR codes.

There are lots you can do with QR codes – and I recommend a look at iCandy, which will give you lots of ideas – and ways to share your little black and wahite boxes via social networks as well as print them out. For desktop and laptop users (Windows, Linux, Mac) and for  iPhone users: i-nigma or QuickMark for Android users.

Now, I imagine naysayers and skeptics will say … “yeah but no one has a camera”, among the raft of other reasons in opposition to using them. I’m offering no response to solving that one – so I’d stick with using it yourself and just leaving the things around, see if they notice.

Think about how giving primary kids. Make some Kindy-rings. Make 10 QR codes, laminated as swing-tags. All they have to do is show them to the webcam and Ding! you’re little ones are visiting websites you want. No faffing about with them typing in a web address. Even better, they can then do a bunch of things without the teacher hovering.

This is a primitive view of what is possible – with a little creative design, you can do all sorts of games and activities with QR codes I imagine.

Did you know Google will make them for you? All you have to do is visit http://goo.gl – their URL shortner.

Add a link to your own blog (or other website) – and Ding! you’ve made a short URL. Oh, you wanted a QR code. Well, simply press details and bingo, it creates a QR code that you can save – or if you’re so hopelessly smitten with Word, just drag and drop. Here’s a link for you to try out just to show you how easy it is. Now wait a second – this get’s better – because goo.gl uses metrics – so you can see how many people are visiting (using your QR) code. So now you can see if they are going where you want – and more interestingly perhaps – when and where from.

11 thoughts on “How to make QR Codes with Google

  1. Thanks Dean, this is a great post for MacICT right now. We have been using I-nigma with our iPhones out in the field with our mobile learning Local Ecostudy project. The QR codes are hung from plants in the field. When students scan the code, a link to the relevant identifying data is provided. We are finding that students enjoy this app. The data they collect is gathered to solve a quest in the field. Later, the kids put together a piece of work on what they have learnt. But once our kids have created this work to share, it would be great for them to use the google app to create their own QR code for that work. They could track their visits to their page. Nice! Thanks again!

  2. Pingback: QR Codes in the Classroom « Fusion Finds

  3. Very helpful info. I am writing a blog about QR codes and I’m linking to your info. My customers are retailers and I think this will be very helpful info. I also found a site called uQR.me that is helpful.

  4. Pingback: QR Codes Classic Legacy Marketing Tip for 2011

  5. While it may be simplistic what you mentioned, I’ll tell you this is the perfect use for students with disabilities. By eliminating typing you can open computer access to many, many more students!! Thanks for this wonderful idea and I look forward to trying it out in my classroom!!

  6. Pingback: 3/18/2011: Virtual Worlds Best Practices in Education Right Now! New DRM Podcast Interview, Money Reader, Listening Tools, QR Codes, Tech Expo, Bugaj and Poss in May, PATINS YouTube | PATINS PROJECT -Rapid Fire-

  7. I’m getting into QR codes now and came across your site.

    Was reading through the main page and found the following…
    “share your little black and wahite boxes via social”

    I suspect you meant “black and white”.

Comments are closed.