What are your touchpoints?

People often like to talk about games being a key to unlocking the door of engagement in students. The problem is that to gamers, feelings are facts – not content. This is the same premise that today’s digital consumer society is based upon, customers see feelings as facts. If you feel like Edmodo works, then it’s a fact because those people who are most engaged are rationally loyal. The same goes for Moodle or anything else.

While many educators in social media are fully engaged and emotionally attached to certain tools and topics, they are also emotionally detached and agnostic towards others. I can’t see how this is different for a student who has completely different touch-points with each subject and increasingly certain brands (Apple, Google, Pearson etc).

I would be interesting to know what the average disengagement is among technologically vocal teachers towards things such as UDL or accessibility for example – or how disengaged they are with the plight of other teachers in a school a suburb away.

This is my beef with the whole ‘connected educator’ myth. Each of us has certain touch-points of engagement and information, opinion, junk and bias flows though our feeds like water though a sieve. What we engage with is probably less now than ever before.

Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “What are your touchpoints?

  1. As a National Writing Project “connected learning ambassador,” I thought I might chime in – you hit my touchpoint, dude!

    I think we – as teachers and nerds – have always cultivated touchpoints. I hope that what the semi-formal, DML-brand of connected learning does is bring previously unconnected people together around a set of touchpoints that are more inquiry-, interest-, and kid-driven than school is, and that trade more closed brands (Apple, Gates Foundation) for more open ones (DML, Mozilla). I feel like the networking I’ve done over the past half-decade, especially through the Writing Project, has offered me the chance to reinvent myself as a teacher for the greater good. Now, ascribing the cause of my change to networking might be a myth in that I had to choose to change, but that connectedness I experienced made it easier for me to make the changes I know I should have made in how I teach.

    Some of my touchpoints come from my students; some are my own; and I have my own blindspots and moments of educational agnosticism aplenty. Can those things coexist with legitimate educational connectedness?

    Great, though-provoking stuff here. Glad your work is a touchpoint of mine!

    All the best,
    C

Comments are closed.