I’ve adopted a Blood Elf Priest

I eagerly read the Horizon Report for 2011, which has identified Game Based Learning as having a 1-3 year adoption in education. This must have been written by educators, not gamers.

The blindman and the elephant

It was six men of Hindustan
To learning much inclined,
Who went to see the Elephant
(Though all of them were blind)
That each by observation
Might satisfy the mind.

And so these men of Hindustan
Disputed loud and long,
Each in his own opinion
Exceeding stiff and strong,
Though each was partly in the right
And all were in the wrong

John Godfrey Saxe

Goodness, and I like the idea.

3 thoughts on “I’ve adopted a Blood Elf Priest

    • Yes, I think education isn’t about to adopt games, in the sense it implies. However I think that in that period, we’ll see games adopt education more and more

  1. Would be interested to hear more of your thinking on this.

    My concern with folk telling us education is about to adopt gaming, is that – from my observation of gamers in my family – the school day is not long enough for serious gaming, our bandwidth isn’t good enough at schools – and it would all seem a bit contrived. Unless they are talking about extended periods of Maths Blaster and the like….

Comments are closed.