I almost bought a PhD

In thinking of improving my understanding of educational technology, I thought I’d go along to a seminar to find out if it is worth while, or just stick to what I’m doing.

I bumped into a nice fellow, who suggested a PhD might help achieve this.

I laughed.”Why would I do that? … all that would happen is that I spend all my time on my PhD, have no time do anything else” – and felt rather indignant that this person would even think that I had time to spare.

I don’t know much about the PhD BUT I’ve heard about them and heaps of people these days swear they improve your own intellect and your ability to teach and lecture others.

What poppycock! – I can lecture a class for a solid hour and hardly stop for breath. Later, after I test them – they get great scores.

I can’t see how a PhD would improve my teaching and to be honest there’s an outside chance that they are a bit addictive. From what I hear, people doing them spend hundreds of hours alone online, and often ignore their family and friends in the process for years on end. And at the end of the day, they spend all this money and for what?

Then I realised, that I hadn’t heard properly – they actually said PS3, not PhD. Christ I thought, I was just had an inverse moment, but just for a few minutes, I saw the other side of the argument.

2 thoughts on “I almost bought a PhD

  1. Hmm, but aren’t you already doing a lot of the work that goes towards a PhD?😉

    If you do want research training, you want to apply all the reading and learning you do… and you want it to be practical… and fee-free (in Australia)… then why not consider the EdD?? PhDs need to come up with a philosophy, EdDs need to come up with something practical for the profession. Something to think about😉

Comments are closed.